The New York State Senate has killed a water quality improvement bill, by refusing even to bring it to the Senate floor for a vote before adjourning the legislative session. The State Assembly approved the same measure by a margin of 112-24.

The proposed legislation was introduced in the Senate by Senator Kenneth P. Lavalle and in the Assembly by Assemblyman Robert K. Sweeney. Titled the “Long Island Wa-ter Quality Control Act,” the bill would have reduced the discharge of contaminants into groundwater and established a regulatory framework to improve the quality of drinking and surface waters on Long Island. The bill was in response to concerns from scientists and environmentalists about declining water quality across the Island.

After nine months of input from citizens, businesses and government officials, and a five-hundred to one ratio of supporting versus opposing comments to Albany lawmak-ers, the State Senate left the bill to die in committee.

Supporters of the bill included all of Long Island’s water suppliers, dozens of groups who support improved water quality and thousands of Long Islanders who drink, wash or swim in Long Island water. The Senate chose to protect the polluters, particularly the developers and the agriculture industry, instead of the quality of water affecting nearly three-million Long Islanders – it’s outrageous.” The measure had been opposed by the Long Island Farm Bureau and the Long Island Builders Institute.

The farmers said simply that they wanted no additional regulations to prevent the dis-charge of fertilizers and pesticides into groundwater. The developers promised last January, that they would oppose water quality improvement unless the bill provided for the construction of 50,000 new houses. They basically told Long Islanders that their group would oppose improving water quality unless the bill allowed them to continue polluting Long Island’s water.

The Long Island Environmental Voters Forum has taken the position that those who did not vote to support the clean water bill, no matter what the reason, are ineligible for endorsement in the state-wide elections, this fall. Environmentalists vowed to pursue the legislation.



Election Results for LIEVF 2013 Endorsements
The Long Island Environmental Voters Forum Announces Election Results for Endorsements in the Election of 2013. The Long Island Environmental Voters Forum is a non-profit, non-partisan grassroots organization created to identify, recruit, endorse, support, train and actively campaign for pro-environment candidates for public office.

New York State Assembly
Anthony Palumbo – 2nd Assembly District- Elected

Suffolk County Legislature
Karina Hahn 5th -- Legislative District- Elected
Jennifer Juengst – 6th Legislative District- Defeated
DuWayne Gregory – 15th Legislative District- Elected
Louis D’Amaro – 17th Legislative District- Elected
William Spencer – 18th Legislative District- Elected

Nassau County Executive
Thomas Suozzi- Defeated

Nassau County Legislature
Kevin Abrahams – 1st Legislative District- Elected
Norma Gonsalves – 13th Legislative District- Elected
Judith Jacobs – 16th Legislative District- Elected

Town Supervisor
Larry Cantwell – East Hampton- Elected
Edward Romaine -- Brookhaven- Elected
Kate Murray -- Hempstead- Elected
Angela DeVito -- Riverhead- Defeated
Anna Throne-Holst -- Southampton- Elected
Judith Bosworth – North Hempstead- Elected

Town Board
Valerie Cartright -- Brookhaven- Elected
Jane Bonner -- Brookhaven- Elected
Michael Loguercio -- Brookhaven- Elected
Dan Panico -- Brookhaven- Elected
Kathleen Walsh -- Brookhaven- Defeated
Job Potter – East Hampton- Defeated
Bradley Bender -- Southampton- Elected
Francis Zappone -- Southampton- Defeated










Copyright © Long Island Environmental Voters Forum All rights reserved


Contact Us home About the forum Fight for our Environement